Want to know how to trash a post in WordPress? Removing a post from your WordPress is simple with the Trash function. Please watch the video above to learn all about trashing a post in WordPress.
What happens when you trash a post in WordPress?
When you trash a post in WordPress, the post is not immediately deleted but is moved to a virtual trash can. If you want to recover the post or delete it permanently, you can go into the trash folder and do this.
To access the trash folder, go to Posts > All Posts. If you have posts in trash, a link to the trash folder will be displayed at the top of the page. Click on this link to view your trash folder.
To restore a post, click Restore. Your post would be moved back to the place it was deleted from, whether “Published” or “Drafts”.
If you want to permanently delete a post, click Delete Permanently.
Note that to be able to delete or restore a post that was moved to trash, you need the proper authorization level. This can be either administrator, or editor level. If you are unable to perform the actions described above, contact your WordPress admin for the required auth level.
Did you know that WordPress gives you 30 days to change your mind if you have deleted a post but want to restore it? The Trash function removes it from its location but keeps it in a virtual trash can that is only permanently emptied every 30 days or if you do it manually.